Denpa Onna to Seishun Otoko

Aliens, Hyperactive, youth, Cosplay, Belonging and a Futon. Words that fill Denpa Onna to Seishun Otoko. Far from what I’ve expected it to be. Had my guesses wrong 9 out of ten times trying to predict outcomes in the series.

The story revolves around a highschool boy named Niwa Makoto. He lives with his aunt’s family since his parents are away on business. It is there where he meets his mysterious cousin of the same age Touwa Erio — who happens to tie a futon mattress around her upper body and is a self-proclaimed alien. Her staple food is pizza. Erio had been missing for half a year and was found floating in the sea. She doesn’t remember anything about what happened during that period of time, but she began to think that it was the act of an alien and wanders the neighbourhood wrapped in the futon.

(MyAnimeList)

 


Denpa Onna to Seishun Otoko


 59497 Title: 電波女と青春男Episodes: 13

Genre: Comedy, Sci-Fi, Slice of Life,Seinen

Duration: 24 Minutes per Episode

Producers: Shaft, Starchild Records,NIS America, Inc.L

PG-13

 D O W N L O A D  L I N K S


Nyaa 1080p [13.34GB] |


INTRODUCTION


 vlcsnap-2014-08-02-20h37m13s51 vlcsnap-2014-08-02-20h38m18s193 vlcsnap-2014-08-02-20h38m29s44vlcsnap-2014-08-03-01h35m30s99 You are taken into a weird place, following the life of Makoto who’s transferring from the country-side to a big city. Hints of how the locals of the big city believes in aliens sprung on you as you see Makoto observing the city while riding a taxi with his aunt ,Meme, that doesn’t seem to age. They get to his aunt’s place, a house whose architectural design follows traditional Japanese architecture mixed with a modern look (I know I never described unrelated stuff but playing Visual Novels kinda makes me want to). Upon entering the door and given a warm welcome by his aunt he notices a futon rolled up on the side of the corridor and in it is a girl. Makoto is weirded out because not only did his aunt act casually around the girl rolled up in a futon but the fact that she doesn’t acknowledge the existence of the girl was even more confusing.After that normal anime introductions, settings, characters, nothing special except for the girl in the futon. It really grows on you as you are watching, Naturally you’d want to know who is that and what the f*ck is she doing rolled up in a futon. Let me explain why its intriguing. Not only is she rolled-up in a futon, eats pizza from the top of the futon and talks as if she’s not from earth but the fact that she Is female and her legs and the top of her head are the only features you can see from her. As a guy who likes girls I ask myself what’d she look like? What is she hiding in that futon? By this time the anime has already got me hooked.

 vlcsnap-2014-08-03-01h01m56s173


REVIEW


 vlcsnap-2014-08-03-01h34m26s224 vlcsnap-2014-08-03-01h32m44s227 vlcsnap-2014-08-03-01h33m30s172 vlcsnap-2014-08-03-01h32m21s253 vlcsnap-2014-08-02-20h40m43s102 vlcsnap-2014-08-02-20h40m55s220 Lets start off with how much I LOVE the opening and ending theme of Denpa Onna to Seishun Otoko. The opening theme was made in such a way that the girl in the futon was singing it its about her and how she depends on Makoto. With a cute little tone along with lyrics that are descriptive and yet artistic at the same time. Its not for karaoke, it is for you to listen and appreciate the message of Erio(the girl in the futon). The Ending theme had that and added a mix of… lets say a feeling of Exciting yet Calm.The characters, cutest bunch I’ve every seen. From Ryuuko to Maekawa to Meme to Yashiro then finally Erio who is the cutest of them all. Actually that’s not true its Ryuuko who’s the cutest of them all. Then again, if Erio is rolled in a futon…Once again, it is an Anime that you won’t expect what to happen next, it is not random, it simply expresses ordinary events happening within an extra-ordinary setting. The humor can be understood by all but as with any good anime the mystery doesn’t solve itself. It has a deeper meaning into it which was properly explained although out and it is up to you what you understood from it.

*Spoiler Alert

I don’t like how Makoto doesn’t end up with anyone. He doesn’t end up with Smooth-skinned Sensei, Ryuushi, 180cm Cosplay Girl and the girl wrapped in a Futon. In the end he is still MakoMakoTanTan, Niwanyiwa-kun, Transfer-Student and The Cousin to them. At some point I wish he’d have a romantic moment with each.

vlcsnap-2014-08-03-01h02m18s132Overall the Anime is ridiculously fun to watch. You’d smile at every quirk, Every development and realization. Seriously though Ecchi is out of the picture. The Anime is indeed watched over by Aliens and I wish they’d make a visual novel so we “the aliens” can choose who the protagonist ends up with. Personally I’d go for the Maekawa route.


RATING: 4.3 / 5


I’ve never been so embarrassed before. I just received word on how much I f*cked up my last 2 posts. Sloppy writing, Wrong grammar, and a lot of dumbassery at work. That’s from writing at 3 in the morning, straight from thoughts to the keyboard without proof-reading and carelessly publishing. For that I apologize.

Comments
4 Responses to “Denpa Onna to Seishun Otoko”
  1. Overlord-G says:

    Meme FTW!

    I enjoyed the show while Erio was speaking alien jargon. The other girl who spoke alien filled the gap nicely. Overall the show was decent and Meme is what kept making me come back for more.

  2. Sutra Blue says:

    @Gisei
    Yeah you’re right. The fact that Makoto doesn’t ended with anyone kinda make you feel “what a waste” while there’s many cute girl surrounding him, why he didn’t pick anyone, “oh,what a waste”

    I like this anime very much, and never get enough. There is shocking event for me though. It’s when I enjoyed the show so far and not realizing it until I got to the ending and waiting for preview for next week, but what I get is “Thanks For Watching” message. I then said “What the meaning of this” then googling it to only find that it’s really the last episode. I instantly said “WHAAAT, IT’S OVER ALREADY!!!” and no news about season 2 either. Oh, why must it end while it’s so goood.

    I agree with you maybe if the story include Romance some more, maybe it will become more lovely, If I must pick someone I would pick Ryuushi than Erio, with her personality I think, she is so ~ MOEEE ~ ~o~
    And same as Overlord-G for Meme, Ryuuko (but I like the name Ryuushi better, lol) is what kept making me come back for more. 🙂 *grin*

Leave a Reply

